Addiction

Otherside-Macklemore X Ryan Lewis

Macklemore and Ryan Lewis on Addiction, Controversy

Seeing Macklemore last year was life-changing. I got chills listening to of”Same Love”, and came to tears when he performed “Otherside”, a song of his I had not heard yet. It shook me to the core.
“Otherside” is a song about addiction. I am sure every person out there has either personally had problems with addiction, knows someone who has, or has suffered by the hands of someone with an addiction. Or some variety of the three.
I could go on and on about how addiction has played a personal role in my life. However, this is not the time. This song, “Otherside”, was in part a personal story of Macklemore’s fight with addiction. The main emphasis of this story truly breaks my heart because this very story happened to my cousin over 5 years ago. He lost his life to a story eerily similar to the truth this singer.
We all wish we knew the answers. We wish he were still with us today.
The very least I can do is spread this word. Macklemore’s anti-drug Public Service Announcement of sorts.

Addiction is a terrible demon that affects us all.
All I ask is for you to be there for one another, spread the word, be the support that someone needs, speak up.
Too many are taken from us.

Narcotics Anonymous

Alcoholics Anonymous

Projectknow–support for family and friends

Photo source: http://yhcbs.wordpress.com/2013/04/10/reasons-macklemore-should-be-president/

 

Leave a Reply

